WERTvoll

A valuable urban-rural partnership through a cooperative land use strategy

Motivation

Fast growing metropolises need more and more land for their economy, transportation and living space. In addition, the large cities rely on the resources of the surrounding area for the supply of food, drinking water and energy. Usually there is no comprehensive and cooperative land use strategy between the cities and the surrounding area.

Goals and approach

The inter-municipal community of Wurzener Land and the city of Leipzig are working on a valuable urban-rural partnership. The aim is to develop a cooperative land use strategy for the region. Through a market-oriented development of multiuse concepts, several services will be anchored on the same agricultural area, e.g. food production, drinking water production, biodiversity and climate protection. Synergies are to be developed and the regional added-value will be increased.

Expected results and transfer

The project develops practical solutions for inter-municipal organisational structures between urban and rural areas. It contributes to the implementation of the EU Water Framework Directive to improve the quality of groundwater and to the renaturation of rivers. The application of production-integrated compensation measures preserves agricultural land and thus the basis for healthy regional food and climate-friendly bioenergy. The "new Leipzig market place" will increase the regional value creation for Leipzig and its surrounding area.

Project Management / Contact

Dipl.-Ing. Agr. Frank Wagener, Prof. Dr. Peter Heck
Hochschule Trier
Institut für angewandtes Stoffstrommanagement – IfaS
Telephone: +49 6782 17-2636
Email: f.wagener@umwelt-campus.de

WERTvoll: Project team in 2019 © IfaS
WERTvoll: Project team in 2019 © IfaS

... back to English summary.

 

Further Information

Project Profile
Download to come soon

Funding Measure:
Stadt-Land-Plus

Project Cluster:
Regional Products

Project Title:
WERTvoll – Urban-rural-partnership Leipzig & Surroundings

Duration:
01.08.2018 – 31.07.2023

Project Number:
033L210

Funding Amount:
3.003.815 €

Partners:
- Municipality Bennewitz (as representative of the Intercommunal Municipalities „Wurzener Land“: City of Wurzen, 
  Municipalities of Bennewitz, Thallwitz, Lossatal)
- City of Leipzig, Office of Environmental Protection, Mayor for Environment, Public Order and Sports
- Wassergut Canitz GmbH
- Private Institute for Sustainable Land Management GmbH – INL
- Schweisfurth Foundation

Internet:
Website: https://wertvoll.stoffstrom.org

Version:
June 2020

WERTvoll

Stadt-Land-Partnerschaft Leipzig & Umland

Motivation

Stark wachsende Metropolen benötigen für Wirtschaft, Verkehr und Wohnraum immer mehr Landfläche. Gleichzeitig greifen Metropolen für Lebensmittel, Trinkwasser und Energie auf das Umland zurück. Eine umfassende kooperative Landnutzungsstrategie zwischen Stadt und Umland gibt es in der Regel nicht.

Ziele und Vorgehen

Die interkommunale Gemeinschaft Wurzener Land erarbeitet gemeinsam mit der Stadt Leipzig eine WERTvolle Stadt-Land-Partnerschaft. Ziel ist eine kooperative Landnutzungsstrategie für die Region. Durch den marktorientierten Aufbau von Mehrnutzungskonzepten – mehrere Leistungen werden gezielt auf derselben Fläche verankert, z. B. Nahrungsmittelerzeugung, Trinkwassergewinnung, Biodiversität und Klimaschutz – werden Synergien erschlossen und die regionale Wertschöpfung gesteigert.

Erwartete Ergebnisse und Transfer

Das Projekt erarbeitet praxisgerechte Lösungen für interkommunale Organisationstrukturen zwischen Stadt und Land. Es liefert Beiträge zur Umsetzung der EU-Wasserrahmenrichtlinie zur Verbesserung der Qualität des Grundwassers sowie zur Renaturierung von Fließgewässern. Die Anwendung produktionsintegrierter Kompensationsmaßnahmen schützt landwirtschaftliche Nutzflächen und damit die Grundlage gesunder regionaler Lebensmittel sowie klimafreundlicher Bioenergie. Mit dem „neuen Marktplatz Leipzig“ wird die regionale Wertschöpfung für Leipzig und sein Umland gesteigert.

Projektleitung / Kontakt

Dipl.-Ing. Agr. Frank Wagener, Prof. Dr. Peter Heck
Hochschule Trier
Institut für angewandtes Stoffstrommanagement – IfaS
Tel.: +49 6782 17-2636
E-Mail: f.wagener@umwelt-campus.de

WERTvoll: Erstes Verbundtreffen WERTvoll © IfaS
WERTvoll: Erstes Verbundtreffen WERTvoll © IfaS

... zurück zur Projektübersicht

 

Weitere Informationen

Projektsteckbrief
Download als PDF hier

Fördermaßnahme
Stadt-Land-Plus

Projekt-Cluster
Regionale Kreislaufwirtschaft stärken und Wertschöpfung erhöhen

Projekttitel
WERTvoll – Stadt-Land-Partnerschaft Leipzig & Umland

Laufzeit:
01.08.2018 – 31.07.2023

Förderkennzeichen:
033L210

Fördervolumen:
3.003.815 €

Verbundpartner:
- Gemeinde Bennewitz (in Vertretung der Interkommunalen Gemeinschaft Wurzener Land: Stadt Wurzen, Gemeinden
- Bennewitz, Thallwitz, Lossatal)
- Stadt Leipzig
- Wassergut Canitz GmbH
- Privates Institut für Nachhaltige Landbewirtschaftung GmbH – INL
- Schweisfurth Stiftung für eine nachhaltige Agrar- und Ernährungswirtschaft

Internet
Website: https://wertvoll.stoffstrom.org

Stand
Oktober 2018